Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Taking the Next Step

That's right! We are in the planning stages of having a baby!
First of all, I am not pregnant. Not.
I'm really big in planning things and we want to be sure we have money saved up. We plan to save as close to $3,000 as we can. It shouldn't be too hard since we will have time plus the pregnancy to do so. So far, I've been jotting down, researching and picking out the stuff I know I'll want. Of course, gender will play a huge role in a lot of the decision making (also, the time of the year) but I'm doing as much as I can with the information I get from articles, Pinterest, friends and family.
I've already compiled a calculated registry list and everything. I know a lot of the stuff I need, but I know I'm also still in need of more information!
We have already decided on several things:
Firstly, we want to begin by using all cloth diapers. We've talked it over and we both enjoy the idea. We've discussed how it will impact our finances and agreed that it was the best this we could do for our little family.
Secondly, I really want to be as all-natural, pure and healthy as possible; therefore, I intend to breast feed for as long as possible (warning: I'm not going so-natural-as-to-avoid-immunizations). We want to avoid processed foods as much as possible!
And Thirdly: Health. Comes. First. For everyone involved. I know I'm not going to kick my butt into shape immediately, but I will assume a slightly healthier lifestyle for as long as I'm attempting to conceive and become pregnant. That means taking vitamins, exercising and eating more nutrient rich foods.

Over the next several months I'm going to be reading, researching and studying like crazy to make sure that whenever I do conceive, that I am the healthiest that I could be to promote an overall wellness for the baby and pregnancy - not to mention safe delivery.
We are already saving up money and compiling lists of everything we need!

Example of my craziness.

Monday, January 5, 2015

Futuristic/ Planning Ahead/ Baby Registry

Hygiene
*Cloth Diapers
$19.49 Grooming Kit
*$36.99 Steam Sterilizer
For Mom
*$25.99 Breast Pump
*$29.99 Naked Boppy
*$59.99 Baby Bullett
Bathtime
*$14.99 Newborn Bathtime Set
*$24.99 Bath Hammock
*$16.73 Bathtime Set
Bedtime
*$34.99 Aden + Anais Swaddle
*$5.99 Newborn Pacifier OR $3.39 Pacifier
$8.97 Receiving Blankets
*$14.99 Receiving Blankets
*$54.99 Rocking Sleeper
*$29.95 Sound Machine
$40.44 Bedding Set
$24.88 Mobile
$13.44 Fitted Crib Sheets
*$13.89 Blanket
$14.29 Blanket
$8.89 Crib Sheet
Extras
$9.99 Boppy Slipcover
$8.99 Car Mirror
$12.79 Manhattan Toy Winkel
$39.99 Bumbo
$30.85 Diapering Kit
$13.46 Organizer $45 Baby Bundle
Travel
*$199.99 Travel System
*$5.56 Newborn Carseat Insert
Clothing
$7.99 Sleeper
*Gown Set
$6.78 Pants
$8.48 Bodysuits
$8.99 Long-sleeved Bodysuits

* = most important Quilted Crib Pad (x2 needed)(16.99)
Oball Rattle

Commitment to You Is Absolute

Holidays
I had a spectacular Halloween with Sarah, Seth, Tori, Matt & Christian. While Sarah and I baked a homemade marble pumpkin cheesecake, Tori, Seth and Matt carved pumpkins and Christian snoozed on the couch (*ahem - loser*). Although; earlier that morning, Matt and Christian met up to participate in a zombie survival paintball tournament being hosted at Conder's. Us girls had nightly excursions planned to Nightmare Forest (however, we usually go to Field of Screams each year). We roasted pumpkin seeds, ate ghoulash and drank caramel apple cider and had a blast :D Seth was even a good little boy for Matt while we were gone - playing 'Mario & Luigi', as he calls it, on the WiiU.
Friends
Some of our closest friends just recently had a baby and their little family is just the cutest.
Wedded Bliss
Clinging to our wondrous honeymoon memories, we intend to spend our one and only six month wedding anniversary up at Joe's Crab Shack. I absolutely cannot wait. I've only ever been once and that was on our honeymoon in Pigeon Forge. The last six months have just flown by - it certainly doesn't feel like it. Time needs to slow down and chillax a bit. It's been pretty great being married. The funnest part is having my name changed. Funnest, and most complicated, haha.
Work
A couple of weeks ago, I had my Ambassador class in preparation for peak season (aka Black Friday, Cyber Monday and the Christmas Rush - a month long spectacle where leadership runs around all crazy while we do our jobs). I was actually chosen to be an Ambassador for two different departments :D I'm so excited. Today I trained my first team member on how to be a water spider (just one of my many talents). I can't wait for the new hires, though. Everything will be all new and foreign to them and I'll be the first person to greet them and teach them how to do every aspect of their jobs! I am just so incredibly excited!
Family
Once again, I will be hosting a Thanksgiving dinner in my home and all of my family has been extended an invitation to attend. I can't wait to break out that roasting pan (wedding gifts are great) and show that turkey who's boss! I named her Matilda. She shall be a hearty feast. And sooooo many vegetables to be cooked, baked.. maybe even sauteed?! And who could forget? - - - >>

I have two upcoming weddings to attend in the next year :D My Uncle Brad and my cousin Sammy! I can't believe she is getting married the day before me, only a year later (had to have a Saturday - and what month is better than May). Those trips will definitely be worth the wait, though. Going back to Tennessee if the most anticipated, yet! And we will have the chance to celebrate our one year anniversary back where alllllll the magic took place ;D
Currently, my mom is in a heap of infection, multiple pain causes and stresses, and the reluctance to ever have surgery scheduled and actually happen. She's been in a whirlwind of insurance issues, doctor and emergency room visits, medications and of course, the devil of it all, her massive pain. The deep-within-her-bone pain. She is still holding out hope to a certain degree. Lyme disease is evil, let me tell you. Hopefully soon the government will recognize it for the debilitating illness that it is and help those in need. The worst and most ignored fact is that the pain becomes so incredibly unbearable, that most people dont make it to death by cause of disease, but by suicide, just to meet an end to it all. In the near future, I hope to be able to find out more to push forward on this issue and many others. People can talk all they want about ebola - but once you take on a faceless disease - that doesn't outright kill you, but rots you from the inside out, you're facing a lot more agony and aches in the long run. So why is this horrifying disease still seen as a mere blip on any threat level? Why are so many people dying after years of chronic pain that no one can understand or help? I could go on and on, but its after work and I still havent gone to bed yet - waiting on Matty moo to get home from the laundromat. Possibly more later.